Benedict Garden Performance Awards

The 2012 Benedict Medal was awarded at the AHS Convention in Nashville, Tennessee. The winner, which was chosen from the 2011 Award of Merit winners by Garden Performance Judges across the country, represents the best-of-the-best, the ultimate hosta. It is a hosta that performs well in gardens in all regions.

Benedict Garden Performance Medal 2012

H. Niagara Falls

H. 'Niagara Falls' (Brincka and Petryszyn - 1991)

AHS members can use your Members Password to log in and read the 2012 Online Journal to view photos of all the Benedict Garden Performance Award of Merit and Honorable Mention winners.

Benedict Garden Performance Awards of Merit

              1. H. 'Atlantis' (Avent and Hansen)
              2. H. 'Hanky Panky' (H. Hansen)
              3. H. 'Journey's End' (H. Hansen)
              4. H. 'Manhattan' (O. Petryszyn)
              5. H. 'Millennium' (J. Wilkens)
              6. H. 'Robert Frost' (Wm. & E. Lachman)
              7. H. 'Tiny Tears' (R. Savory)
              8. H. 'Wolverine' (J. Wilkens)

Benedict Garden Performance Honorable Mention Awards

              1. H. 'Blue Angel' (*P. Aden)
              2. H. 'Blue Ice' (R. Benedict)
              3. H. 'Dawn's Early Light' (O. Petryszyn)
              4. H. 'Fragrant Bouquet' (*P. Aden)
              5. H. 'Hoosier Dome' (O. Petryszyn)
              6. H. 'Invincible' (*P. Aden)
              7. H. 'Ivory Coast' (D. Savory)
              8. H. 'Key West' (O. Petryszyn)
              9. H. 'Powderpuff' (F. Nyikos)
              10. H. 'Sum and Substance' (*P. Aden)
              11. H. 'Sun Power' (*P. Aden)

(* signifies that the originator is undocumented and Paul Aden is currently considered to NOT be the originator as addressed by the registrar)

For more information about this award, click on the medal on the AHS home page.

Images on this website are copyright protected. They are not in the public domain!
Contact us before attempting to reuse. Copyright ©2014 American Hosta Society