Benedict Garden Performance Awards

The 2019 Benedict Medal was awarded at the AHS Convention in Green Bay, Wisconsin. The winner, which was chosen from the 2018 Award of Merit winners by Garden Performance Judges across the country, represents the best-of-the-best, the ultimate hosta. It is a hosta that performs well in gardens in all regions.

There was a TIE for the 2019 Benedict Medal. The winners, H. 'Sharp Dressed Man' (R. Solberg - 2005) and H. 'World Cup' (Doug Beilstein/Mark Zilis - 2006), for 2019 are pictured below.

Benedict Garden Performance Medal 2019

Hosta 'Sharp Dressed Man'- 2019 Benedict Garden Performance Medal Winner

H. 'Sharp Dressed Man' (R. Solberg - 2005)

Hosta 'World Cup'- 2019 Benedict Garden Performance Medal Winner

H. 'World Cup' (Doug Beilstein/Mark Zilis - 2006)

AHS members can use your Members Password to log in and read the 2019 Online Journal when it is published to view photos of all the Benedict Garden Performance Award of Merit and Honorable Mention winners.

Benedict Garden Performance Awards of Merit

  1. H. 'Clear Fork River Valley' (V. Wade - 2007)
  2. H. 'Electrocution' (T. Avent - 2005)
  3. H. 'Gemstone' (T. Avent - 2005)
  4. H. 'Spartacus' (H. Hansen - 2007)
  5. H. 'Sum of All' (M. Zilis - 2003)

Benedict Garden Performance Honorable Mention Awards

  1. H. 'Abba Dabba Do' (T. Avent - 1998)
  2. H. 'High Society' (H. Hansen - 2004)
  3. H. 'Pandora's Box' (H. Hansen & Shady Oaks Nursery - 1996)
  4. H. 'Restless Sea' (H. Hansen - 2006)
  5. H. 'Stitch in Time' (R. Mortko - 2004)
  6. H. 'Titanium' (D. Dean - 2000)

For more information about this award, see the Benedict Garden Performance Medal page.

Images on this website are copyright protected. They are not in the public domain!
Contact us before attempting to reuse. Copyright ©2019 American Hosta Society